The hypocrisy of those who push the homosexual agenda

What’s that well known Christian saying – “Hate the sin, but love the sinner”. Well apparently Christians [and others] even “hating the sin” is ‘hateful’ according to many who push the homosexual agenda. How do you respond when confronting someone about their homosexuality – say nothing, or outline exactly what the scriptures say on the issue? Not to mention all the other evidence which exposes the truth regarding this so called ‘lifestyle’. Of course in most instances you’ll be labelled a ‘homophobe’ for your trouble. Read on for an interesting take on this subject by Dr. Scott Lively:

Is hating ‘haters’ hateful?

There’s a double standard being used in the public debate on homosexuality.

by Dr. Scott Lively
Vol. XXI, No. 7, September 2008

Hate has a pretty bad name in the world today. No one wants to be called a hater, especially Christians, which is probably why we get accused of it all the time by our opponents. Homosexuals are especially fond of calling people haters. They even invented the word homophobia, which means hate and fear of homosexuals, envisaged as a mental illness. (A phobia is an anxiety disorder.)

I hate being called a homophobe. It has such an ugly connotation. It’s especially unpleasant because, as a Christian, I’m supposed to have a reputation for loving people, not hating them. So I’ve worked really hard over the years to try to get the homosexuals to stop calling me a homophobe. I’ve pointed out the difference between hating people and hating their behavior (loving the sinner but hating the sin). They hated that.

Then I tried “walking my talk” by taking an ex-gay man who was dying of AIDS into my family. My wife and I and our children loved and cared for him during the last year of his life. They hated that even more.

Then I began asking for guidance from homosexuals themselves. “Tell me, where is the line between homophobia and acceptable opposition to homosexuality?” I asked. “What if I just agree with the Bible that homosexuality is a sin no worse than any other sex outside marriage?”

“No, that’s homophobic,” they said.

“Suppose I talk only about the proven medical hazards of gay sex and try to discourage people from hurting them- selves?”

“No, you can’t do that,” they said.

“How about if I say that homosexuals have the option to change if they choose?”

“Ridiculous,” they answered.

“Maybe I could just be completely positive, say nothing about homosexuality, and focus only on promoting the natural family and traditional marriage?”

“That’s really hateful,” they replied.

After a while, I realized that the only way I could get them to stop calling me a homophobe was to start agreeing with them about everything. But here’s my dilemma: I honestly believe the Bible, which says that homosexuality is wrong and harmful and that all sex belongs within marriage. I’ve also read the professional studies and know that gay sex hurts people because it goes against the design of their bodies. And I’m friends with a number of former homosexuals who are now married and living heterosexual lives. Do I have to give up my religion? Ignore scientific facts? Betray my friends? Is that the only way to avoid being called a hater and a homophobe?

There’s no escape. A homophobe is anyone who, for any reason, disapproves of homosexuality in any way, shape, manner, form, or degree. This leaves me with just two choices: agree that everything about homosexuality is natural, normal, healthy, moral, and worthy to be celebrated or be labeled as a mentally ill, hate-filled bigot.

Am I wrong? Is there any way to openly disapprove of homosexuality without being a homophobe? Gay leaders, please set me straight on this.

Because if I’m right, that means the gay agenda is to stop everyone from following the Bible regarding sexual matters. It is, after all, their stated goal to “stamp out homophobia.” No more religious freedom. It’s also to suppress scientific research that has reached conclusions they don’t like, especially if it helps people to change their homosexual orientation back to a heterosexual one. (Ask the doctors and scientists at http://www.narth.com what they’ve had to endure.) If it discourages homosexuality, even by implication, it’s homophobic and can’t be used.

There’s a queer reasoning behind all of this. Homosexuals call me names like bigot and homophobe, condemn my religion, mock my rational conclusions about social issues, impugn my motives, display intense hostility toward my actions, and curse my very existence, all under the justification that I’m a hater. But if I’m a hater for civilly opposing what they do, why aren’t they haters for uncivilly opposing what I do? Such a double standard, in the context of a public debate on civil rights, is not just hypocritical, it is surreal.

I admit I have some hate. I hate watching people kill themselves with preventable diseases like AIDS. I hate seeing children being steered toward unhealthy lifestyles. I hate having my pro-family views distorted by dishonest journalists, politicians, and academics. And I hate seeing my God being treated like a homophobe for what He teaches in His Bible.

So if you’re not going to stop calling me a hater for wanting homosexuals to be saved and healed or for opposing their political agenda, let’s at least see a little more of that famous “American sense of fair play” in the public debate on this issue. Hatred of haters is hateful, too.

12 thoughts on “The hypocrisy of those who push the homosexual agenda

  1. The difference is that Scott Lively is hating people for who they are, for how God made them, not for what they do. They oppose him for spreading misinformation about how God made the world, and for falsely pretending that ex-gay “therapy” works. Darlene Bogle’s public apology http://www.beyondexgay.com/article/apology shows that it is never too late for people like Scott Lively to form a Christian attitude to life.

  2. I agree with this women…there should be room to disagree with their agenda while not being called a homophobe.

    [Kris K: TWOM is referring to me, and not Clare Flourish, because I hadn’t approved Clare’s comment at that stage. And by the way, TWOM, I don’t know where you got the idea I’m a “she” because I’m not. Must be my mild and gentle manner 😉 ]

  3. Great article, pity there’s no simple answer to his questions! I have a close friend who is christian and gay, and I must admit that before meeting her I thought that that combination wasn’t possible. I now realise that for some it’s difficult if not impossible to change sexual orientation. Yes I know there can be miraculous intervention, but that doesn’t necessarily happen. BTW, she is not and has never been in a gay relationship, because of her christian faith. We and other friends simply support her and don’t judge – after all, none of us is perfect either. The hardest thing is hope, or lack of it. Unmarried heterosexual men and women can at least hope they might eventually meet a life partner, but for a gay christian this can’t (or shouldn’t) happen. The greatest threat is christians (in particular some churches) that go beyond acceptance and support to encouraging a gay lifestyle – that is really sad.

  4. Clare,
    Really??? Where do you get the whole “God made them that way” line??? Obviously not from the Bible. Homosexuality is condemned in the strongest possible terms in both the Old and New Testaments. And you do realise we get the term “sodomy” from God having to destroy the city of Sodom (along with Gomorrah) for its inhabitants depravity and evil which had become so bad that they openly practiced homosexual gang rape.

    No doubt, using your ‘logic’, you would also say God made murderers, paedophiles, liars, thieves, fornicators, adulterers et al, and that He is responsible for their actions and choices, rather than the individual exercising free will, because (to use your cop-out line) they are “how God made them”.

    Liberal ‘Christians’ (I’m assuming here) like you are the ones “spreading misinformation”. And coming to the conclusions you do about God only reveals that you probably don’t even know Him at all:

    Mat 7:20 Wherefore by their fruits ye shall know them.
    Mat 7:21 Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven.
    Mat 7:22 Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works?
    Mat 7:23 And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity.

  5. Here there are no Greek nor Jew, slave nor free… Since Lot offered his daughters to the crowd to have sex with, he can hardly have thought that male crowd were gay. They were destroyed for breaching desert codes of hospitality, not for being homosexual.

    Might it be possible for you to give your opposition to gay people no more than its proper weight? As you say, there are murderers and adulterers: do you really give gay people no more condemnation than their importance merits, compared, say, with divorced Christians or thieves?

  6. KrisK,

    My humble apologies sir…I’m currently corresponding with 4 different people and I had a brain fart. 🙂 I’ll try not to make that mistake again. Good discussion.

  7. Clare – you said:

    Since Lot offered his daughters to the crowd to have sex with, he can hardly have thought that male crowd were gay.

    Ah, no. It was because they were sodomites that they rejected his offer and demanded he send out the angels. Lot knew fulwell exactly what they were and, rightly or wrongly, felt that these men having his daughters sexually was the lesser evil.

    They were destroyed for breaching desert codes of hospitality, not for being homosexual.

    Ah, wrong – another liberal myth which those who seek to ‘normalise’ homosexuality peddle.

    And by the way, all, and I do mean ALL, sexual union outside biblical marriage is condemned by scripture.

    I have no real issue with someone who may be sexually attracted to another person, but it is when they act on those desires (outside of marriage) that they have crossed the line – that’s heterosexual relationships without even getting onto the whole same-sex issue. The Bible is, once again, very clear on these issues.

    PS re divorced Christians. The Bible permits divorce ONLY on the grounds of infidelity. But even then God prefers reconciliation if at all possible.

  8. Pingback: Causing the little ones to sin | Clare Flourish

  9. I think we will just be talking past each other if we talked further, but I wanted to tell you how angry I am about those scare-quotes. Liberal ‘Christians’ you write. I am quite as Biblical a Christian as you are, sir, and as a Quaker I have an immediate relationship with God.

  10. I can only say it as I see it, Clare. To not tell it plain is doing you no favours.
    I left the following comment at your place:

    Okay, Clare, here goes.
    Lets have a little look at what the word of God has to say about sodomites:

    Deu 23:17 There shall be no whore of the daughters of Israel, nor a sodomite of the sons of Israel.

    Now remember, before the church existed the children of Israel were the only group of people considered to be “God’s children”. Of this group NONE were to be sodomites. Similarly the New Testament [see Romans 1 etc] is clear that Christians are not to be sodomites.

    1Ki 15:11 And Asa did that which was right in the eyes of the LORD, as did David his father.
    1Ki 15:12 And he took away the sodomites out of the land, and removed all the idols that his fathers had made.

    1Ki 22:46 And the remnant of the sodomites, which remained in the days of his father Asa, he took out of the land.

    Hmmm, removing sodomites from the land seems to be “right in the eyes of the LORD”.

    Gen 19:4 But before they lay down, the men of the city, even the men of Sodom, compassed the house round, both old and young, all the people from every quarter:
    Gen 19:5 And they called unto Lot, and said unto him, Where are the men which came in to thee this night? bring them out unto us, that we may know them.
    Gen 19:6 And Lot went out at the door unto them, and shut the door after him,
    Gen 19:7 And said, I pray you, brethren, do not so wickedly.
    Gen 19:8 Behold now, I have two daughters which have not known man; let me, I pray you, bring them out unto you, and do ye to them as is good in your eyes: only unto these men do nothing; for therefore came they under the shadow of my roof.

    Funny how Lot recognised that the men of Sodom wanting to know [sexually] the two men [angels] staying with him was wicked. This has nothing to do with hospitality, that’s for sure.

    And a similar account in Judges:

    Jdg 19:22 Now as they were making their hearts merry, behold, the men of the city, certain sons of Belial, beset the house round about, and beat at the door, and spake to the master of the house, the old man, saying, Bring forth the man that came into thine house, that we may know him.
    Jdg 19:23 And the man, the master of the house, went out unto them, and said unto them, Nay, my brethren, nay, I pray you, do not so wickedly; seeing that this man is come into mine house, do not this folly.
    Jdg 19:24 Behold, here is my daughter a maiden, and his concubine; them I will bring out now, and humble ye them, and do with them what seemeth good unto you: but unto this man do not so vile a thing.
    Jdg 19:25 But the men would not hearken to him: so the man took his concubine, and brought her forth unto them; and they knew her, and abused her all the night until the morning: and when the day began to spring, they let her go.

    Sodomites = abomination:

    1Ki 14:24 And there were also sodomites in the land: and they did according to all the abominations of the nations which the LORD cast out before the children of Israel.

    And then in the New Testament:

    Rom 1:25 Who changed the truth of God into a lie, and worshipped and served the creature more than the Creator, who is blessed for ever. Amen.
    Rom 1:26 For this cause God gave them up unto vile affections: for even their women did change the natural use into that which is against nature:
    Rom 1:27 And likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust one toward another; men with men working that which is unseemly, and receiving in themselves that recompence of their error which was meet.
    Rom 1:28 And even as they did not like to retain God in their knowledge, God gave them over to a reprobate mind, to do those things which are not convenient;

    And the “effeminate”:

    1Co 6:9 Know ye not that the unrighteous shall not inherit the kingdom of God? Be not deceived: neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor effeminate, nor abusers of themselves with mankind,

    No need for me to elucidate further on what both the Old and New Testaments make abundantly clear.

    At the end of the day, Clare, your argument isn’t with me, but rather with the word of God. I’d advise you to accept God’s counsel – to not do so has eternal consequences.

    Also, God’s word advises us that not all who claim to be Christ’s disciples are in fact Christians:

    Mat 7:20 Wherefore by their fruits ye shall know them.
    Mat 7:21 Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven.
    Mat 7:22 Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works?
    Mat 7:23 And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity.

    “… choose you this day whom ye will serve …”

  11. I have given a long reply on my own blog, and here will content myself with citing Romans 14:4. Yes, if you believe that you may not make love to another man, by all means abstain from such conduct, but do not condemn it in your Christian brother. I think this remnant mentality, excluding people and dividing Christians, damages the church.

  12. Clare, it matters not one wit what I think on the matter when God’s word is crystal clear and leaves absolutely no room to move.

    I noticed you ignored ALL the scripture quoted above – obviously too hard for you to refute and so you put your head in the sand and pretend it doesn’t exist. Remember Christ’s words – [Joh 12:48] “He that rejecteth me, and receiveth not my words, hath one that judgeth him: the word that I have spoken, the same shall judge him in the last day.”

    God’s word will judge you when you stand before Him – especially when you can no longer claim ignorance after I have highlighted them to you. Better to judge yourself now in this life and repent, than to have God do it and ‘reward’ you accordingly at the Great White Throne judgement.

Leave a Reply

